Dark Mode
Tuesday, 16 July 2024

Welcome to the National Assembly of Bhutan website.


The National Assembly meets twice a year, in summer and in winter, but can meet more often if commanded by the Druk Gyalpo.

Each sitting of Parliament commences and closes with the Druk Gyalpo being received by members of Assembly and the Council and takes place in the National Assembly hall (Gyalyong Tshokhang).

Each sitting normally lasts for a month, however, the duration depends on the agenda.  The sessions begin at 10 in the morning and adjourn at 1:30 pm.

All proceedings are conducted in Dzongkha, the national language, and in public.

Joint sessions take place when there is dispute over a proposed law from either of the houses. The Speaker of the National Assembly presides over the joint sitting, which is held in the National Assembly hall. Disputes are usually resolved by appointing a committee comprising members from both houses and a final vote taken during the joint session.